The Seventh for Tigres

SAN NICOLÁS DE LOS GARZA | Wednesday, May 29, 2019.- Tigres reached to the sky once more to win their seventh Liga MX championship and climb to fifth place of the teams with the most titles in the history of Mexican football.


With this Clausura 2019 title, the Universitarios put an end to the 37-year summer-tournament drought, since the 1981-82 season, which marked just the second title for the institution.


Tigres now have seven Liga trophies, five since Apertura 2011 to date, and four since French footballer André-Pierre Gignac joined the team, accompanied by Javier Aquino and Jürgen Damm.


The Frenchman has already equaled Tomás Boy’s 104-goal record as the team’s highest scorer, leaving the record-breaking goal for next season.


Ricardo Ferretti also matched legendary Ignacio Trelles’ record of seven Liga titles, five of which the Brazilian won with Tigres and the other two with Chivas and Pumas.


Beyond the definitions of greatness or otherwise, the team continues on its journey of winning titles and increasing the institution’s achievements.