Tigres closes preparation with a draw against Correcaminos

SAN NICOLÁS DE LOS GARZA | Saturday, July 2, 2016.- Tigres closed the 2016 Summer Tournament (Apertura) preseason stage with a 1-1 draw against the Universidad Autónoma de Tamaulipas Correcaminos, and will now focus on the July 10 match in which they will compete for the first championship of the season against Pachuca, for the honor of being awarded the Champion of Champions title.

The felines arrived on Friday from their beach stage on the Riviera Maya, and this match against UAT allowed the Tigres manager, Ricardo Ferretti, to observe the squad as a whole, since he used different teams in each half to find the starting 11 for next Sunday.


Tigres first and only formal practice for the Champion of Champions offered a format with some variations in comparison with the previous tournament. At times the felines had three forwards, Fernando Fernández in the center, accompanied by Ismael Sosa and Javier Aquino on the sides.

Guido Pizarro was placed as a constant defensive midfielder with two slightly less rigid wide midfielders, Jesús Dueñas and Lucas Zelarayán, backed by the overlapping runs from Israel Jiménez and Jorge Torres Nilo, although the players would rotate positions for a while, especially the forwards.

Enrique Palos was the goalkeeper, since Nahuel Guzmán won’t be arriving until Monday next week. Apart from ‘Patón’, who is on vacation, other absentees were André-Pierre Gignac, who is competing in the European Championship with his national team, and Jürgen Damm, Iván ‘Guty’ Estrada and Francisco Meza, who are all recovering from injuries.


The felines were just trying to settling in on the field, getting into position, when the Correcaminos player Pierre Ibarra, from a set-piece, surprised them by heading the ball home.

Tigres tried to gain possession of the ball, passing it more purposefully than their opponent, taking advantage at times of the formation with three forwards, but lacked depth and were unable to finish and score in the box.  The first half was portrayed by one team attempting and the other safeguarding its goal area, while endeavoring to take advantage of any dangerous counterattacks, including a leap in the area by Guido Pizarro to avoid a Correcaminos goal.

The felines were unable to rattle the rival goalie, with the most dangerous deflected shots coming from outside the area by Zelarayán, Sosa, Dueñas, Fernando and Aquino, as well as a free kick by Lucas that went over the net.


Ricardo Ferretti changed the entire team for the second half, in which the rest of the new players had the chance to display their talent. Miguel Herrera Equihua accompanied José Rivas in the center; Alberto Acosta and Luis ‘Chaka’ Rodríguez covered the left and right flanks respectively; while Luis Quiñones played as a right midfielder and Julián Quiñones as an attacker.

The team was extremely dynamic; Luis Quiñones, Espericueta and Acosta added a spark to the game and produced several opportunities to penetrate the box of the visiting team, who brought multiple platers down to their defensive area to avoid a goal by the felines at all costs.

Minute 64 saw the equalizer with a penalty shot taken by Espericueta and the team continued to attack enthusiastically, seeking the winning goal, but were blocked by the Tamaulipas team’s defense and goalkeeper, Jesús Gallardo.


The Champion of Champions will be disputed on July 10 at the StubHub Center in Los Angeles by Tigres and Pachuca, the last two monarchs of Mexican football, to define who will be crowned as the top team of the 2015-2016 season.


0-1   CORRECAMINOS Min. 4.- Header by Pierre Ibarra from a corner, sending an impossible-to-save ball to the right of the goalkeeper Palos.

1-1 TIGRES Min. 64.- Jonathan Espericueta scored with a penalty, tricking the goalkeeper.


Tigres: Enrique Palos (Aarón Fernández 46’); Israel Jiménez (Luis Rodriguez 46’), Hugo Ayala (Miguel Herrera 46’), Juninho (José Rivas 46’) and Jorge Torres Nilo (Alberto Acosta 46’); Guido Pizarro (Manuel Viniegra 46’), Jesús Dueñas (José Torres 46’), Lucas Zelarayán (Damián Álvarez 46’); Javier Aquino (Luis Quiñones 46’), Ismael Sosa (Jorge Espericueta 46’) and Fernando Fernández (Julián Quiñones 46’)

Correcaminos: Daniel Voguel (Jesús Gallardo 46’), Néstor Olguín, Hugo Sánchez, Jonny Leveron and Pierre Ibarra (Julio Atilano 82’); Ricardo Bocanegra (Ricardo Chávez 77’), Juan Silva, José Reyes and Diego Olcina (Andrés Mendoza 71’); Ever Guzmán (Lucas Ayala 57’) and José Rosas

Referee: Alejandro Funk


Tigres: Luis Rodríguez (78’)

Correcaminos: Néstor Olguín (20’), Jonny Leverón (33’), Pierre Ibarra (47’)